2015 Valedictory Dinner

Friday 11 December, 2015
by Rachael Harland
The New College community gathers to farewell departing Collegians

The 2015 Valedictory Dinner was held on October 30th at New College. This dinner is an opportunity for the College community to gather at the end of each academic year to farewell Collegians who are departing and to acknowledge the contributions they have made to the New College community. At the dinner, major awards are presented by the College and the New College Student Association (NCSA).

The New College Award is an annual award presented to a resident who has exemplified the ideals of the College during their time in residence. Since 2007, there has been two awards; one for Academic Excellence and one for Service.

The 2015 New College Award for Academic Excellence was awarded to Bill Walton. Academically, Bill has maintained an outstanding academic record for the duration of his time in New College. In addition to his academic success he was described by one of his nominees as always “helping people even despite extensive other commitments”. Bill has contributed to all aspects of College life being an active member of the New College Christian Fellowship, working behind the scenes at College productions and an invaluable sportsman and coach. He has also served the community in formal roles as an academic tutor and residential advisor.

The 2015 New College Award for Collegiality and Service to Society was awarded to Bronte Richardson. Throughout her time at College, Bronte has been an exemplary New Collegian. She has been involved in various aspects of college life such as lead roles in college productions, participation on the Netball court, Secretary on the NCSA Executive and as the Senior Residential Advisor in 2015. She is described as having an enthusiasm that is ever present but with sincere empathy for those around her.

The NCSA Collegian of the Year award for 2015 was awarded to John Raineri in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the College overall and his commitment to multiple areas of college life. Other NCSA awards presented on the night included:

  • Sportsman of the year: Oscar Broecker
  • Sport woman of the year: Erin Prince
  • Most inspirational sportsman: Mitchell Hutchison
  • Most Inspirational sportswoman: Martjie Venter
  • The Mick Braund Award: Cobie Moore
  • The Matt Giblin Award: Michael Tran
  • Service Awards: Johnny Wong, Nick Stacey, Dominic Cooper, Emily Hull and Bill Walton