2021 Major New College Awards Announced

Tuesday 30 November, 2021
by Arthy Mukunthan

The 2021 Valedictory Dinner was held on the 19th of November at New College. At this dinner, major awards were presented by the NCSA and the College. This is the opportunity for the College to acknowledge the contribution that many residents have made to the community.

The announcement of the recipients of major College awards occurred during the proceedings. The annual New College Award for a significant academic contribution was awarded to Meagan ‘Prongles’ Davis. This award is open to nominations from all current New Collegians.

As well, a second New College Award was presented to Ebony ‘Luna’ Jolliffe. This award is given to the person who has made the most outstanding contribution to the College’s other concerns of collegiality and service to the community.

The New Collegian of the year for his exceptional contribution to the New College community and his ability to organise activities that cater to all collegians was awarded to Nicholas ‘Rico’ Perera.

Other NCSA awards presented on the night included:

Matt Giblin Award: Samuel ‘Harry the Sound Man’ Pietsch
Mick Braund Award: Benjamin ‘Rusty’ Gillham
Steph Frewin Award: Ben ‘Bobby the Seal’ Rayner
Service Awards: Aaron ‘Twelfie’ Madirazza, Clare ‘Eric the Eel’ Freeman and Jacob ‘Narabeen’ Karp
Subcommittee of the Year: MovieSoc
Sportswoman of the year: Cleo ‘Dojo’ Turner
Sportsman of the year: Jacob ‘Narabeen’ Karp
Most Inspirational sportswoman: Lucy ‘Popeye’ Sholl
Most inspirational sportsman: Josh ‘Simmer’ Spratt 

The primary reason for VD however, is to farewell our collegians who will be leaving us in the coming year - the best opportunity to say thank you for their past two or more years as residents. The New College Valedicts of 2021 are all people who have contributed tremendously to college, putting in their input, effort and say into this building and its awesome community. It’s easy to say they will be missed next year, but we are excited to see how they grow and move forward as New College Alumni.